CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 245/GT/2020

Coram:

Shri I.S. Jha, Member Shri Arun Goyal, Member Shri Pravas Kumar Singh, Member

Date of Order: 14th September, 2022

IN THE MATTER OF

Petition for revision of tariff for the 2014-19 tariff period in respect of Koteshwar Hydro Power Station (400 MW).

AND

IN THE MATTER OF

THDC India Limited, (A Joint Venture of Govt. of India & Govt. of UP), Pragatipuram, Bypass Road, Rishikesh – 249201 (Uttarakhand).

...Petitioner

Vs

- Punjab State Power Corporation Limited, The Mall, Near Kali Badi Mandir, Patiala - 147 001 (Punjab).
- Haryana Power Utilities, (DHBVNL & UHBVNL), Shakti Bhawan, Sector – 6, Panchkula-134 109 (Haryana).
- 3. Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Limited, Shakti Bhawan, 14 Ashok Marg, Lucknow – 226001
- BSES Rajdhani Power Limited, BSES Bhawan, Nehru Place, Behind Nehru Place Bus Terminal, New Delhi-110019.
- BSES Yamuna Power Limited,
 3rd Floor, Shakti Kiran Building,
 Karkardooma, Near Court, New Delhi-110092.



- Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited,
 33 kV, Grid Sub-Station Building,
 Hudson Lines, Kingsway Camp, Delhi-110009.
- Engineering Department, Chandigarh Administration, 1st Floor, UT Secretariat, Sector 9-D, Chandigarh-160009
- 8. Uttarakhand Power Corporation Limited, Urja Bhawan, Kanwali Road, Dehradun-248001.
- 9. Himachal Pradesh State Electricity Board, Vidyut Bhawan, Shimla-171004.
- Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited, Vidyut Bhawan, Janpath, Jyotinagar, Jaipur-302005.
- 11. Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited, Old Powerhouse, Hatthi Bhatta, Jaipur road, Ajmer-305001.
- 12. Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited, New Powerhouse, Industrial Area, Jodhpur-342003.
- 13. Power Development Department, Govt. of J&K, Civil Secretariat, Jammu -180001.
- 14. M. P. Power Management Company Limited, 3rd Floor, Block No. 11, Shakti Bhawan, Rampur, Jabalpur-482008.
- Rajasthan Urja Vikas Nigam Limited,
 Vidyut Bhawan, Jyoti Nagar,
 Jaipur 302005 (Rajasthan).
- 16. Jammu and Kashmir State Power Trading Company Limited, PDD Complex, Bemina, Srinagar–190010. ... Respondents



Parties Present:

Ms. Anushree Bardhan, Advocate, THDC

Shri Rajesh Sharma, THDC

Shri Mukesh Kumar Verma, THDC

Shri Ajay Vaish, THDC

Shri Rakesh Singh, THDC

Shri Brijesh Kumar, UPPCL

Shri R.B. Sharma, Advocate, BRPL

Ms. Megha Bajpeyi, BRPL

Shri Mohit Mudgal, Advocate, BYPL

Shri Sachin Dubey, Advocate, BYPL

Shri Abhishek Srivastava, BYPL

Shri Sameer Singh, BYPL

Shri Ravindra Khare, MPPMCL

<u>ORDER</u>

This petition has been filed by Petitioner, Tehri Hydro Development Corporation Ltd (THDC), for truing-up of tariff of Koteshwar Hydroelectric Project (400 MW) (hereinafter referred to as 'the generating station') for the 2014-19 tariff period, in terms of Regulation 8(1) of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Terms and Conditions of Tariff) Regulations, 2014 (hereinafter referred to as "the 2014 Tariff Regulations").

Background

2. The Petitioner is a joint venture company of Government of India (GOI) and the Government of Uttar Pradesh, with GOI holding majority and controlling shares. The generating station is a part of the Tehri Hydro Power Complex with an aggregate capacity of 2400 MWs, which comprises of Tehri HPP Stage-I (1000 MW), Tehri Pumped Storage Plant (1000 MW) and downstream power station Koteshwar Hydroelectric Project (400 MW) in Tehri Garhwal district in the State of Uttarakhand. The Koteshwar reservoir is designed to function as lower reservoir for Tehri Pumped Storage Plant and to regulate the water release from main Tehri reservoir for irrigation



and drinking water requirements. The power allocation from the generating station had been notified on 8.8.2007 by the Ministry of Power, Govt. of India. The petitioner has entered into Power Purchase Agreements with the Respondents for the capacity generated from the project. The generating station with a total capacity of 400 MW comprises of four units of 100 MW each and the COD of the units / generating station are as under:

| Unit / generating station | COD | | |
|------------------------------|------------|--|--|
| Unit-I | 01.04.2011 | | |
| Unit-II | 26.10.2011 | | |
| Unit-III | 13.02.2012 | | |
| Unit-IV / Generating Station | 01.04.2012 | | |

3. The Commission vide order dated 9.10.2018 in Petition No.117/GT/2018, had determined the tariff of the generating station for the 2014-19 tariff period, considering the capital cost of Rs. 262107.72 lakh as on 1.4.2014. Subsequently, vide order dated 4.6.2019 in Review Petition No. 47/RP/2018, the Commission revised the capital cost of the generating station as Rs. 262240.26 lakh, as on 31.3.2014. Accordingly, the capital cost and the annual fixed charges of the generating station allowed vide order dated 4.6.2019 are as under:

Capital Cost allowed

(Rs. in lakh)

| | 2014-15 | 2015-16 | 2016-17 | 2017-18 | 2018-19 |
|------------------------------------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|-----------|
| Opening Capital | 262240.26 | 266634.29 | 272747.88 | 273385.89 | 273577.04 |
| Cost | | | | | |
| Admitted additional capitalization | 4394.03 | 6113.59 | 638.01 | 191.15 | 380.00 |
| Closing Capital Cost | 266634.29 | 272747.88 | 273385.89 | 273577.04 | 273957.04 |

Annual Fixed Charges allowed

(Rs. in lakh)

| | 2014-15 | 2015-16 | 2016-17 | 2017-18 | 2018-19 |
|------------------|----------|----------|----------|----------|----------|
| Return on Equity | 12390.90 | 12719.94 | 12931.36 | 12957.32 | 12975.21 |
| Interest on Loan | 21082.40 | 19776.69 | 18276.41 | 13195.89 | 11610.35 |
| Depreciation | 12577.68 | 12825.98 | 12978.75 | 12995.79 | 13006.01 |

