1. Home
  2. EV Charging
  3. Prince George receiving 12 new electric-vehicle charging stations through government funding
Prince George receiving 12 new electric-vehicle charging stations through government funding

Prince George receiving 12 new electric-vehicle charging stations through government funding


A total of 55 will be spread out in northern, coastal and central B.C.

Prince George is on the receiving end in a big way with an announcement from the provincial government on new electric-vehicle (EV) charging stations.

B.C., in partnership with the federal government, revealed today (Sept. 1) it’s providing 55 new EV charging stations in the north and central regions.

Prince George is getting 12 of those stations, the most among the other communities part of today’s announcement.

“Expanding electric vehicle stations across northern, central and coastal B.C. will make clean transportation options more viable to more people,” Canada’s Minister of Infrastructure and Communities Catherine McKenna said in the announcement.

“Supporting green energy solutions like this, as well as projects such as the Nuxalk Nation’s run-of-river hydroelectric plant, is essential to building strong resilient communities. Canada’s infrastructure plan invests in thousands of projects, creates jobs across the country and builds stronger communities.”

The governments say the addition of stations will more than double the level of two EV charging stations from Haida Gwaii to Prince George to Logan Lake totalling more than 300,000 km.

All of this while adding roughly $230,000 from the Province’s CleanBC Communities Fund and $275,000 from the federal government’s Green Infrastructure Stream of the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program to help with project.

Local governments involved are pooling together more than $183,000.

“Partnerships with governments and communities are key to our CleanBC plan for a cleaner, better and more affordable future for people in our province as we implement our climate plan,” George Heyman, B.C.’s Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy, adds in the same statement.

“Whether it’s better options for people with electric vehicles that are convenient and affordable, or new clean energy leadership by Indigenous communities in the Great Bear rainforest, we’re committed to investing in these partnerships as we work together to support a strong recovery from the impacts of COVID-19 and build a sustainable future for everyone.”

The full list of recipients is as follows (in alphabetical order):

  • 100 Mile House (two stations)
  • Ashcroft (two stations)
  • Barriere (two stations)
  • Burns Lake (one station)
  • Granisle (one station)
  • Haida Gwaii (four stations)
    • Masset
    • Queen Charlotte
    • Sandspit
    • Tow Hill
  • Houston (one station)
  • Kitimat (two stations)
  • Logan Lake (two stations)
  • McBride (four stations)
  • Nisga’a Nation (five stations)
  • Prince George (12 stations)
  • Prince Rupert (two stations)
  • Quesnel (two stations)
  • Smithers (two stations)
  • Stellat’en First Nation (one station)
  • Stewart (one station)
  • Sun Peaks (two stations)
  • Terrace (two stations)
  • Valemount (two stations)
  • Vanderhoof (two stations)
  • Village of Hazelton (one station)
Source : princegeorgematters

Anand Gupta Editor - EQ Int'l Media Network