1. Home
  2. Featured
  3. Dr. Rahul Walawalkar honored with India Smart Grid Forum President’s Award 2018
Dr. Rahul Walawalkar honored with India Smart Grid Forum President’s Award 2018

Dr. Rahul Walawalkar honored with India Smart Grid Forum President’s Award 2018


Key highlights:

  • Selected by eminent Jury for the invaluable contribution towards the growth of Smart Grids in India
  • Microgrid Initiative for Campus and Rural Opportunities (MICRO), an initiative by India Energy Storage Alliance (IESA) has setup goal of reducing the cost of electricity from microgrids in India by 30%- 50% within next 3 years
  • Energy storage could play a key enabling role in every aspect of modern grid

Pune, India: Dr. Rahul Walawalkar, Executive Director of India Energy Storage Alliance (IESA) and President & M.D. of Customized Energy Solutions (India) was honored with India Smart Grid Forum President’s Award 2018 for his invaluable contribution towards the growth of Smart Grids in India at the ongoing India Smart Grid Week 2018, New Delhi. Dr. Kirit Parikh, Former Member Planning Comission and P.Umashankar, Former Secretory Ministry of Power were the past recipients of ISGF President’s Award 2017 for their contribution towards growth of Smart Grids in India. Various IESA member companies also won ISGF Innovation Awards in different categories.

INDIA SMART GRID WEEK (ISGW 2018) is the 4th edition of the Conference and Exhibition on Smart Energy and Smart Cities, organized by India Smart Grid Forum (ISGF) scheduled from 05 – 09 March 2018, New Delhi, India. They launched the ISGF Innovation Awards which intends to recognize individuals and organizations from public and private utilities, service providers, urban local bodies, technology companies, researchers and academia that have set new benchmarks in Smart Grid and Smart City domains.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Rahul Walawalkar, President & MD, Customized Energy Solutions India Pvt. Ltd and Executive Director, Indian Energy Storage Alliance (IESA) said,I am honored to receive the ISGF President’s Award for the contribution of growth of Smart Grids in India along with my guide and friend Dr Rahul Tongia, Fellow at Brookings India. This award is a testament of efforts of Customized Energy Solutions team in adopting various smart grid concepts including demand response, microgrids, energy storage and electric vehicles during past 14 years. We are working with a vision to make India a global hub for adoption as well as manufacturing of emerging technologies such as advanced energy storage, microgrid and EV technologies by 2020. This award comes at a perfect time as MoP has just released the National eMobility Program and next month MNRE is anticipated to launch National Energy Storage Mission. I look forward to continuing working closely with ISGF in coming years for the continued growth of smarter grids and microgrids in India”.

Dr. Rahul Walawalkar is also recipient of awards like Brad Roberts Award for outstanding industry contribution by Energy Storage Association, Power Innovations Award 2016 by Independent Power Producers Association of India, Storage Crusader award at Renewable Energy India Awards 2017 and others.

About India Energy Storage Alliance (IESA):
The India Energy Storage Alliance (IESA) was launched in 2012 to assess the market potential of Energy Storage Technologies in India, through an active dialogue and subsequent analysis among the various stakeholders to make the Indian industry and power sector aware of the tremendous need for Energy Storage in the very near future. IESA aims to make India a Global Hub for research and manufacturing of advanced energy storage technologies by 2020. During past years IESA membership has grown from 5 to 70+ and covers verticals from Energy Storage Manufacturers, Research institutes & universities, Renewable Energy companies and Power electronics companies.

Anand Gupta Editor - EQ Int'l Media Network


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *