1. Home
  2. Featured
  3. Three African countries sign solar alliance treaty
Three African countries sign solar alliance treaty

Three African countries sign solar alliance treaty


Four African countries – Ivory Coast, Somalia, Ghana and Djibouti today signed the framework agreement of the International Solar Alliance (ISA) here in the presence of Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.
ISA was launched in November 2015 in Paris to create a platform for promotion of the solar energy across prospective ISA member countries.
Leaders from Ivory Coast, Somalia, Ghana and Djibouti signed the framework agreement during a ceremony on the sidelines of 52nd African Development Bank Group (AfDB) Annual General Meeting, started today at Mahatma Mandir here.
Apart from these four African nations, Republic of Nauru, a small country which had signed the framework agreement for ISA earlier, submitted its declaration of ratification to the Jaitley.
Speaking on the occasion, Jaitley expressed happiness that more and more countries are coming forward to join ISA to protect environment.
“Solar Alliance was conceived in 2015 between India and France at the time when both the nations signed the Paris declaration (on climate change). With todays ceremony, about 31 countries have signed the agreement while at least six nations have ratified it,” said Jaitley.
“Need for energy is very distinct in Asia and Africa, as significant economic development is yet to take place here. We need energy and simultaneously, we need to protect the environment. I firmly believe that Solar Alliance will be an important milestone for economic development” he added.

Anand Gupta Editor - EQ Int'l Media Network


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *